Home » collected poems 1922-1938 by E.E. Cummings
collected poems 1922-1938 E.E. Cummings

collected poems 1922-1938

E.E. Cummings

Enter the sum

 About the Book 

Librarian note: pages were hand counted from table of contents to last poem.This selection from Cummings first six books of poetry - Tulips and Chimneys (1923), XLI (1925), & (And) (1925), Is 5 (1926), W (Viva) (1931), No Thanks (1935) - also contains some additional poems and an introduction.Later volumes by Cummings include: 50 Poems (1940)- 1 X 1 (1941)- Poems: 1923-1954, the first complete edition of all the poems up to 1954 from all his published collections of verse (1955)- 95 Poems, poems written since 1954 (1958)- and 73 Poems, poems written since 1958 (1963).E.E. Cummings was unique among the poets of his time because he was equally superb in satire and in sentiment. He was merciless toward pretense and pomposity and he was unsparing of those who think war is a good thing- at the same time he had the finest lyric gift, particularly on the theme of love. I consider him to be on of the most moving love poets of all time. - Mark Van Doren